South African Department of Home Affairs Extends Saturday Services for Increased Access

The Department of Home Affairs continues to make strides in enhancing accessibility to its services, particularly for clients who find it challenging to visit their offices during weekdays. The expansion of services to Saturdays has been a boon for those seeking crucial documents and assistance.

This initiative, aimed at facilitating convenience and efficiency, applies to selected Home Affairs offices. This coming Saturday, August 12, 2023, the following offices will be open from 08h00 to 13h00:

  • Home Affairs Menlyn (Menlyn Park Shopping Centre, Pretoria, Gauteng)
  • Mmabatho Office (Motswedi House, Dr James Moroka Dr, Montshiwa Unit 2, North West)
  • Mankwe Office (3, Mogwase Complex, Station Road, Mogwase, North West)

The Department of Home Affairs is committed to keeping a selection of its offices operational on Saturdays and will communicate further regarding the schedule for additional offices.


“We encourage clients to take advantage of the extended hours on Saturdays to collect documents they have applied for,” the department stated.

In recent times, the department has implemented various initiatives to streamline the process of applying for and collecting smart ID cards and passports, making these services more accessible to citizens.


Minister of Home Affairs, Aaron Motsoaledi, recently endorsed a temporary extension of operating hours at specific offices by two hours, from 08h00 to 17h30. This extension applies to approximately 200 modernized Live Capture offices, which handle smart ID card and passport applications. The extension came into effect on July 27, 2023.

Motsoaledi commented, “The department usually receives a higher volume of applications during school holidays. To meet the demand during this period, we have extended operating hours.”

In an effort to further broaden its reach, the department is exploring partnerships with various bank branches across the country. Currently, there are 27 bank branches where South African-born citizens can conveniently renew their passports or smart IDs.

The pilot program, initially scheduled to conclude in July 2022, has been extended until September 2023. The breakdown of participating banks providing smart ID and passport services is as follows:

  • Standard Bank — 9 branches
  • FNB — 7 branches
  • Nedbank — 5 branches
  • Absa — 4 branches
  • Discovery Bank — 1 branch
  • Investec — 1 branch

The South African Department of Home Affairs remains committed to facilitating accessible and efficient services for its citizens, as demonstrated through these innovative initiatives and extended service hours.